Skip to main content


The Department of Middle Eastern & South Asian Languages & Cultures currently offers courses in the following six languages:

Middle East

South Asia

Languages in the Middle East category can be used towards the Middle East Studies degree and the Middle Eastern Language & Literature degree.

Languages in the South Asia category can be used towards the South Asian Studies degree and the South Asian Language & Literature degree.

Students are welcome to study more than one language, but when declaring their degree, they must choose to focus primarily on one for the purposes of fulfilling the degree requirements.